Theology 2.0 – Part 1

The first Theology 1 class is over and my first assignment is complete. The assignment was to write a diagnostic paper. Here are the directions:

Each paper is to be not more than two typed pages, single spaced with a blank line between each paragraph. One paragraph is to be dedicated to each of the following Christian doctrines: Revelation, God, Creation, Humanity, and Sin.

Less than two typed pages seems quite simple, but when you think about having to write about how you understand God in one paragraph it becomes much more difficult. On first thought, I was going to post my diagnostic paper as part one of this series, but I asserted earlier that I would not simply be sharing my opinions on these topics, but offering various views on these topics. I am staying true to my word because I think it’s good to stay true to your word, but also because I am trying not to skew your reading of the rest of the series by my first post.

Instead, I want to make this an open thread sort of post. What do you think/understand/believe about the five topics listed above: revelation, God, creation, humanity, and sin? Any response will do from a deeply theological response to short axioms that you live by.

Sound off in the comments.

5 thoughts on “Theology 2.0 – Part 1

  1. I’m going to comment, but it’s going to be pretty abbreviated as my brain is sort of shot tonight from packing all day.

    Revelation: is still happening today.
    God: is good above all other attributes.
    Creation: is a gift from God and as such, we should be stewards of it and not exploit it.
    Humanity: has the capacity to be good but is flawed and seldom reaches its full potential. But I am hopeful.
    Sin: is rampant, but not in the way that many people think. I’m more worried by greed, hate, and ignorance than by drinking, cursing, and premarital sex.

    I like this series, Thomas. It makes me think even when I’m tired. 🙂

    1. Don’t apologize for brevity. Why use 5 words when 3 will do?

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I know the joys of packing and moving. It certainly takes it out of you. Hope the drive, etc. goes well tomorrow.

  2. i don’t believe in the god of structured religion so my point of view may be odd
    or completely banal

    the only word i will comment on is sin
    the definition is chose to accept for sin is one which includes being off the path, not going the right way
    for me this means that a sin against your god is so esentially a sin against ourself and what you could and should be doing
    and whether this means youare slighting yourself or slightly god or God is, for me, irrelevant
    yo uare doing that which is not in the best interest of yourself; youare being less than you could
    and that’s a sin in any language
    the only sin

Leave a Comment

