Master

I was greeted the other day by the head of the MA in Religion program with this greeting: “Hello, Master.” It felt good, indeed. Today, I received two diplomas: one for my Master of Divinity and one for my Master of Arts in Religion. I was the first person in my family to get a bachelors degree and am now the first to earn a masters degree, let alone two. I have learned a lot over the past 3 1/2 years in my two masters programs, though I do not necessarily feel like an expert or a master.

Education is a precious commodity, and it is one which I do not take lightly. It is also one that I believe is worth every struggle and sacrifice it takes to receive it. One does not have to be in a formal classroom setting, though, to learn. Take the time and put forth the effort to learn something you’re interested in. You will be a better person for it.

Further, I would be remiss if I did not recognize the support of my friends and family throughout my entire educational journey thus far. Thank you for all of your support. And who knows, I may be able to write more since I am not a student, for another year at least.

One thought on “Master

Leave a Comment

