Christian Diversity

I’m a little late to the party, but James McGrath has a great post asking How Diverse Can a Church Be? He makes his point particularly clear when he asks why we can’t, as my mother would say, agree to disagree:

Why is it apparently so hard for some people to say “I personally think things should be done another way, but I understand why you prefer to do it this way, and I can offer you community, friendship, support, encouragement and celebration, while continuing when occasion presents itself to discuss the things we disagree about”?

He closes his post with a great quote by David Aune from his article The New Testament: Source of Modern Theological Diversity, which I will requote here because it says what I believe in much better terms than I could.

“Diversity is a sign of vitality, not of decadence…Since most of our theological language is analogical rather than univocal, or metaphorical rather than literal, it seems to me that we do a basic disservice to the theological task when we transform diversity into contradiction, varieties into irreconcilables. Diversity is not only a sign of the vitality of the Christian religion, it is absolutely necessary if Christianity is to be meaningful and living for people of radically different social, cultural and historical contexts.”

Leave a Comment

