Jump From the Hook

I change my desktop background quite often; at least every few days. I like it to reflect my emotional and intellectual mood. (I’ve thought about programs that automatically change your desktop for you – I’ve even tried one for a while – but they just change to random images you have, they almost never change to one that you’re “feeling” at that particular time.)

So, I changed my desktop background again this morning. It’s a simple background. It’s black with the following quote on it in white text:

And if the old guard still offend, they’ve got nothing left on which you depend, so enlist every ounce of your bright blood, and off with their heads. Jump from the hook! You’re not obliged to swallow anything you despise!

This quote is from the song “Sleeping Lessons” by the Shins. These words remind me that I am my own person and I don’t have to accept anything that anyone else may be trying to get me to take. We have all, I am sure, had to swallow things that we despised before in the classroom, church, etc. The point, though, is that we don’t have to any longer.

So, the next time someone tries to force their belief or opinion on you grow a spine, jump off the hook, and refuse to accept what he is offering.

One thought on “Jump From the Hook

Leave a Comment

