Gone Fishin’

The first time my dad ever fished for King Mackerel he caught a 25-pounder and a 32-pounder. I fished for King for 8 years before I caught my first one (pictured below) last September. I hope I don’t have to wait another 8 years to catch another one…and I don’t think I will

By this time tomorrow, I will be at the beach with my dad and brother-in-law for a King Makerel fishing trip that we’re hoping will be fruitful. This weekend is, according to the King of King (read: my dad), the perfect weekend to fish for King Mackerel. It is the weekend of the first full moon in October and the water temperature is hovering around 68 degrees Fahrenheit.

Below is a picture of the 20lb King I caught out of season last September. (Sorry about the poor quality)

And here I am cutting it into steaks. It doesn’t get much better than this.

I hope to have more pictures to post over the weekend.

One thought on “Gone Fishin’

  1. King mackerel fishing is my favorite way to fish. I grew up on the NC coast and went about every weekend with my dad. I wish I had the opportunity now to go as often as I did then. It’s such a fun time. Good luck!

Leave a Comment

