I Celebrate Myself

In 1855 Walt Whitman penned these words

I celebrate myself,
And what I assume you shall assume,
For every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you.

In 1891, though, Whitman revised Leaves of Grass and added three words that I think drastically change the opening of “Song of Myself.”

I celebrate myself, and sing myself

It is important to celebrate yourself, for you are special and unique. However, if you do not share that with the rest of us, then we are all the poorer for it. Allow others to see who you really are and what you have to offer.

To do that you must first find out who you are, who you want to be; your dreams, hopes, beliefs. Then live life as fully as you can, as only you can.

Then celebrate who you are and sing who you are.

3 thoughts on “I Celebrate Myself

  1. More importantly, shouldn’t we all be finding out who we are to GOD, who HE wants us to be; HIS dreams, hopes, and beliefs for us? It’s not all about US. This whole thing is about GOD!
    And yes, HE did create us special and unique, but we were also born with that dreaded SIN nature that, if not BIBLICALLY dealt with will result in death (at least according to the inerrant Word of God).

    1. I am glad that people from various backgrounds, belief systems, and perspectives read my site, truly. However, I don’t fully understand the motivation behind your comments. They seem designed to show how wrong you think I am and to spread your understanding of “truth” in an unsolicited manner.

      I am very open to dialogue if that’s what you’re looking for, but your comments to date do not come across that way to me. Please help me if I’m misunderstanding something here.

  2. “More importantly” means that your thoughts and view have validation and application, but should not be the focus and goal of our lives. To the person who created themself, by all means, find out who YOU are. But for the ones who were created by God, shouldn’t we give ourselves to HIS will and find out HIS plan for us? After all, doesn’t the Bible tell us, “His ways are higher then our ways?”

Leave a Comment

