Doing Nothing

I was reminded this week of the benefits of silence and rest. In thinking through what it means to rest, be silent, think, reflect I remembered a Thomas Merton quote my mom had torn out of a magazine and given to me.

Some of us need to discover that we will not begin to live more fully until we have the courage to do and see and taste and experience much less than usual … And for a man who has let himself be drawn completely out of himself by his activity, nothing is more difficult than to sit still and rest, doing nothing at all. The very act of resting is the hardest and most courageous act he can perform.

I was a very active and intense teenager and have become more “active” with how connected email and social media allow me to be. We all know the benefits of “unplugging” occasionally, but it is much easier said than done.

I can’t and won’t spend every moment in silence, but I am going to try to spend more time in rest and silence than I have recently.

How hard is it for you to rest and do nothing?

One thought on “Doing Nothing

Leave a Comment

