PhD, Here I Come

On Monday morning Trinity and I left Columbia, SC and headed toward Tallahassee, FL. 8 hours and a few stops later we arrived at my new apartment on the north side of the city.

The process of unloading the vehicle from the tow dolly and the truck was much more drama-filled than I’ll get into now, but suffice it to say that we survived, got everything moved in and over the course of the next 2 days got everything unpacked and arranged completely, except for the 40 boxes of books, which I unpacked today.

From my collection: 3 Volume Septuagint, 1822

My classes start at the end of the month. I am both excited about the challenges and opportunities ahead of me and still trying to figure out exactly why I thought it was a good idea to move away from my wife for the foreseeable future. Nevertheless, I know this is a journey and living in the journey is often more meaningful than the destination.

So, here’s to a successful beginning in this journey.

3 thoughts on “PhD, Here I Come

    1. Too bad.

      BTW, I was excited when I heard you were moving to Birmingham because I thought we’d be somewhat close and could visit each other. Then I looked at a map and realized it’s 5 1/2 hours away. Sad face.

      1. The good news is I have a great friend who lives on the Appalachicola Bay and my grandparents are more towards the center of North Florida, so I’ve already decided to travel down that way for a break or two.

Leave a Comment

