Why I’m “Pro-Life”

Life is valuable.

I believe those three words with everything that I am. Yet, many would still label me as “pro-choice” because I support a woman’s right to make decisions about her body. By that I mean that a woman should be able to legally and safely have a pregnancy ended without unnecessary interference or attempts at emotional persuasion to get her to do otherwise. I am not a proponent of terminating a pregnancy after a fetus is deemed to be viable outside of the womb, yet I still value a woman’s right to choose.

So, then, some may ask, if I support abortion, then how can I call myself “pro-life”? That’s actually quite a simply answer: I value life . . . all of it. It is particularly appalling that there are some out there who think that abortion should not be permitted in any situation, even in cases of rape, incest, and endangerment of the mother’s life. Some even want to criminalize the act, an act that Nature (or God, I guess, depending on your beliefs) commits countless times a day around the world.

To be clear, I am a huge advocate of adoption. Having been adopted into a wonderful family I can attest to adoption as a viable choice in the process. My desire is not only that women, when faced with an unplanned or a crisis pregnancy, would choose to have their child and give it up for adoption, but also that other members of society would step up and lovingly accept that child into their homes and their lives. Being anti-abortion and  doing nothing to support the children that you want these women to have only serves to continue to over burden our foster care system here in America.

I have thought about giving in and calling myself “pro-choice” and letting others own the “pro-life” title, but I simply cannot do it. For I believe that truly being “pro-life” has implications far beyond abortion debates.

  • I believe that one cannot be “pro-life” and not value one’s individual right over their own body.
  • I believe that one cannot be “pro-life” and think that killing others in war is the best solution to conflicts.
  • I believe that one cannot be “pro-life” and support the torture of another human being.
  • I believe that one cannot be “pro-life” and condone capital punishment.
  • I believe that one cannot be “pro-life” and ignore poverty in our communities and around the world.
  • I believe that one cannot be “pro-life” and support an “abstinence only” sex education that does not educate people on safe sex practices.
  • I believe that one cannot be “pro-life” and continue to support policies that do not value the most vulnerable in our society, children and elders.
  • I believe that one cannot be “pro-life” and not fight for freedom and equality for all people.

I am pro-life in all of its forms, all of its expressions, and all of its issues. My pro-life stance includes a woman’s right to choose, but it also extends far beyond that issue. It extends from the cradle to the grave and from the rich to the poor. It extends from Africa to South America and from Republicans to Democrats. It extends from Christians to Muslims and from Jews to Atheists.

I am pro-life because life is valuable . . . all of it.

5 thoughts on “Why I’m “Pro-Life”

  1. awwww, mom love.
    So, Thomas, Did trinity give you my presentation from our ethics class? because this is it. not word for word, but freakin’ close.

  2. Pingback: Arbitrary Labels |
  3. Pingback: Arbitrary Labels |

Leave a Comment

