Fall 2012 Classes

Classes at FSU begin on Monday, so I thought I’d post a quick overview of the classes I’ll be taking/teaching.

Gospel of Matthew – Graduate seminar in which we’ll be reading selections of the Greek text of Matthew and of modern and pre-modern scholarship on these selected passages. We will also look at the interpretation of the book through the 5th century. Dr. Levenson, one of my main advisors, will be teaching this course.

Ge’ez (Ethiopic) – Graduate language class. This is only a one hour class, but I am quite excited about it. I do not have current research interests that require knowledge of Ge’ez, but having a knowledge of Ge’ez will allow me to take up opportunities in the future that I would not have been able to otherwise.

Coptic – I am doing this as a graduate directed independent studies language course. I worked on Coptic over the summer and will continue this Fall, mostly working on translating the Gospel of Thomas.

Xenophon – This a Greek language class in which we’ll be working through parts of the Cyropaedia. The course is taught a professor in the Classics department at FSU, which is housed in the same building as the religion department, Dr. Branscome. Yes, I realize this makes three official language classes for this semester. Should be fun, and not at all easy.

Muhammad and the Qur’an – Graduate seminar that will focus on the early biography of Muhammad and will explore contemporary scholarly debates surrounding the historical Muhammad and the field of Qur’anic studies. I am excited about this class and I expect it to only increase my desire to learn Arabic.

Introduction to the New Testament – I will be teaching this course this Fall. We will be looking at many of the texts of the Christian New Testament, focusing on reading them with as religious, literary, and historical documents. There will be a large push for understanding the context of the texts we read as well as reading what the texts actually say, as opposed to what we think they say or want them to say. This is the first course I’ll be teaching at FSU, though more will come.

I will also be working on French this semester, as I have to pass a reading knowledge exam and I hope to take that exam this December. I hope to have more than enough reading knowledge to pass the exam, though, but rather to have a fairly workable conversational knowledge of the language. Luckily Trinity, my wife, is learning French with me, making the latter goal easier to accomplish.

So, that’s a bit of what I’ll be doing this semester. What’s on your docket?

Leave a Comment

